Copyright and Digital Citizenship

Digital Citizenship

Well, the hairs on the back of my neck stood erect, beads of perspiration began to form on my palms … #EDC3100 lecturer, David Jones, presented the cohort with an insight into digital citizenship. Am I an “effective practitioner of Digital Citizenship”? Do I apply the correct social and ethical protocols and practices when using ICT? I know I try to be diligent. But am I diligent enough?

David highlights the significance of our professional conduct pertaining to intellectual property using Assignment 1 as an example. He states, “if you use digital resources inappropriately you are going to struggle to get a good mark for this criterion”. However, that is not all. He also highlights the professional significance in relation to the AITSL standards (4.5). [I am now reaching for the fan switch as those beads of perspiration are increasing!]

Really, my only area of concern is the use of music, particularly background music for presentations – to spice up the YouTube, etc. I searched on creative commons for appropriate music – to no avail. However, I did locate a song I do want to incorporate. Unfortunately, the people who created the song, Powder, are no longer in action. There website has a closing statement fareweling and thanking their fan base.

Do I, or do I not include this wonderful song? How do I ensure I reference it sufficiently? I am searching through, with a fine toothcomb the definition of fair use in an Australian context. I do want to get it right; I don’t want to do the wrong thing or be jeopardised for an inadvertent mistake. Do I not include music at all?

Wow! Yet another learning curve within #EDC3100. You gotta love that.  Further to the wonderful resources ICT Beginner blog incorporated into their recent blog, and apart from reading and re-reading David Jones’ information, I have been digesting the information contained in the Australian Copyright Council Find an Answer section. You can access it here. I have located the following blurb and hope, with fingers crossed, this is sufficient to allow me to use the music I have chosen for my assessment.

“An example of fair dealing for research or study may be using music in a film which is to be submitted for a school or university project, but which you do not intend to show outside the classroom or distribute further.”

ICT Beginner blog

Are you a digital citizenship? Being a digital citizen means that you utilize ICTs in order to engage in society safely, responsibly and critically.

As part of the new Australian Curriculum children are required to be digital citizens to meet their learning objectives. Children are to participate in ICTs to gain the knowledge, skills and confidence to make them ICT capable for school, home and work environments.

As part of this students and teachers needs to learn the laws surrounding online work and copyrighting issues. http://www.smartcopying.edu.au/ is a website which details all copyright issues regarding all Australian schools and TAFE services. Which is extremely handy as a teacher in classroom needing to know what you can and can’t copy.

http://creativecommons.org/ is also another handy link for dealing with sharing with the use of legal free tools. The free copyright licenses work alongside copyright laws in able to provide users with…

View original post 65 more words

Leave a Reply

